At least the variety in complaints keeps it interesting

Sometimes it takes incredible restraint for me to stop myself from turning around and asking guests if they’re messing with me. The things that people come up with, it’s amazing.

To date, one of the best “complaints” I’ve had is from a guest who actually stunned both myself and one of my colleagues into silence.

Guest checks into the room. Comes back down a couple of minutes later, throwing the keys onto the desk and demanding a manager to complain about her room.

I step in and ask what’s wrong.

“There’s no bathroom. I want a refund.”

“…I’m sorry?”

“I just got checked into 306. There’s no bathroom. What kind of hotel is this?”

“Ma’am, there is most certainly a bathroom in your hotel room. It’s on the left hand side of the room, right next to the bed.”

The guest grabbed her keys back and stalked off, but not before she’d made me promise that I would refund her if there was in fact no bathroom in her room.

Oddly enough, she didn’t complain further. Guess she found the bathroom?

Posted on February 9, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I bet the guest did everything possible to avoid running into you after making such a scene! Great idea for a blog, the more laughter the better in this world of ours!

  2. I look forward to reading more amazing stories.

    I just came back from a very enjoyable four nights at the St Regis on 16th St NW in Washington DC. I may write a review.

    How do hotel workers feel about tripadvisor.com ?

  3. haha, some people are so silly. I love the blog idea, and I look forward to reading more 😀

Leave a Reply

